Kansas City metro school districts announce closures following winter storm


Kansas City, Missouri – Several schools in the Kansas City area are shutting down on Wednesday due to the aftermath of Tuesday’s winter storm.

Residents in the Kansas City region experienced a heavy snowfall on Tuesday, with accumulations reaching up to 11 inches in some areas.

Check also: HB 1989 opens doors for Missouri students to choose public schools statewide

School districts in Missouri, including Kansas City, Independence, Lee’s Summit, Liberty, North Kansas City, Raytown, Kearney, Platte County, and Belton, have decided to remain closed on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, districts like Park Hill, Harrisonville, Hickman Mills, Excelsior Springs, Ray-Pec, and Blue Springs will shift to remote learning or AMI day.

Across the border in Kansas, school districts such as Olathe, Blue Valley, Shawnee Mission, KCK Public Schools, Piper, Lawrence, Bonner Springs/Edwardsville, Leavenworth, Lansing, Eudora, De Soto, Basehor Linwood, Spring Hill, and Gardner Edgerton have also declared closures for Wednesday.

Check also: Armed robbery suspect sought by Lee’s Summit police after vehicle theft

Turner School District, however, has opted for a delayed start, opening two hours later than usual on Wednesday.

Share post:



More like this

Missouri taxpayers surprised by reduced credits for food pantry donations

Jefferson City, Missouri - Because of Missouri's annual cap...

Three Missouri agencies receive nearly $11 million from booming recreational marijuana market

Kansas City, Missouri - With June sales of $119.6...

Kansas business owner and Missouri woman admit roles in $4.7 million drug conspiracy

Kansas City, Missouri - A 48-year-old Mexican citizen, Ana...